Why do many foreigners leave Japan after 5-6 years? If it is such good a country, why don’t people stay?

I was stationed in Japan for 7.5 years in the US Navy, so I lived a very charmed existence in Japan for several years. 

I had the privilege of experiencing only the good aspects of my culture and Japanese culture.

I essentially worked in America: on an American base, could eat American food every day, could buy American clothes on base at a discount, etc.

Then I stepped off base and lived in Japan…had a big, beautiful apartment off of Mikasa Park in Yokosuka, Japan, I could run alongside the harbor every day. It was all paid for by the Navy.

Japanese women would seek out Navy guys outside of the base so I barely even had to learn Japanese (only conversationally fluent after the better part of a decade) and never had to worry about being lonely. 

I lived in a comfortable expat/military community where I was constantly surrounded by friends.

I had tons of money to spend and no responsibilities.

The problem is, that all changed after I separated from the Navy and started university in Tokyo

Suddenly I lived in a tiny apartment in the middle of nowhere that was overpriced because I was a foreigner.

I was questioned by the police because my neighbors found me suspicious – I would often go on long, solitary walks at night and always carried a backpack – people thought I was selling drugs.

I was questioned by the police at least 5 times in my first six months…searched and everything…even in front of crowds of gawking people.

In reality, I was dealing with severe anxiety from social isolation…I was completely alone and barely had enough money to survive on…let alone have a social life.

I started having daily panic attacks and Japanese hospitals would release me (three times) without giving a diagnosis and told me to come back during normal working hours.

I lost interest in Japanese culture and gave up learning the language.

My only job prospects were teaching English…but I couldn’t even get a call back.

When it comes down to it…people leave because Japan…

…isn’t perfect…it’s just another country.

In fact, the only reason people stay is because they get married. Of course it’s fun at first, everything is, that’s where the term “honeymoon phase” comes from.

Once I lived in the “real” Japan I simply discovered that it wasn’t for me…now I live in the Philippines with my wife 👌

3 thoughts on “Why do many foreigners leave Japan after 5-6 years? If it is such good a country, why don’t people stay?

Leave a comment