Is there ever going to be another Pink Floyd?

(I’m copying and pasting the majority of the meat of this from an older Facebook post I made so please forgive me if I’ve used most of this in a previous answer.)

Pink Floyd is a complete anomaly – one of the most confusing success stories in music history. They were a psychedelic band that transitioned into progressive rock…then became one of the best-selling popular artists in history while retaining all artistic integrity. They consistently did the opposite of what should be done to find success in popular music, yet it always worked. How? How???

I wrote an answer about Alanis Morissette the other day and I think the reasons for her success are also (in a parallel sense) applicable to their success as well; they came along at the perfect time when album rock was all the buzz and musical decadence was the fruit of the day. Thanks to the experimentations of the Psychedelic, Acid, and Blues Rock of the previous decade (especially the Canterbury Scene) music listeners were primed to experience and appreciate music in a different way during that period – thanks to FM radio long-form – experimental excursions were the norm.

For a band like them to become the titan they were in the 70s isn’t really possible in the modern music landscape – especially considering albums are barely an art medium anymore.

Bear in mind, they were birthed in the era of 2 – 3 minute pop tunes and art moves in waves, so there is still the possibility of a Pink Floyd in the future.

Why did anyone like Alanis Morisette’s music? What were her fans like and what were her most popular songs? How she became famous when her music is just not only awful, but seriously depressing to listen to?

She was extremely marketable.

As a 90’s kid (born in 1988), I was bombarded by the singles off of Jagged Little Pill on near-constant rotation. I still associate her with Toys R’ Us, Sonic The Hedgehog, and Supersize meals at McDonalds before jumping in the ball pit.

A lesser-known fact, she was already a child actress and had released two albums before her breakthrough. She was primed for brief stardom.

She was the perfect alt-rock chick. Undeniably strong voice utilized in a decidedly “post-grunge” manner, approachably attractive (especially for the standards of the time [think Fiona Apple and Janeane Garofalo]), a breakout hit that was essentially a (pre-smartphone) angry text to an ex-boyfriend (unintentional feminist anthem for a riot grrrl crossover appeal), and a slew of hits that were equal parts contrived apathy and heartbreak – sang in a major key. She was the perfect respite from the grunge movement.

I still enjoy her music, especially for the nostalgia, but I can completely understand why her appeal is now lost on people. She and her album Jagged Little Pill are a snapshot of the nineties.

Who is a better guitarist: Eric Clapton or Jimmy Page?

I’d have to say Clapton because he’s never ruined not one, but TWO epic guitar solos by randomly pulling out a violin bow…

In this picture, made available Thursday June 13, 2013, bassist Gene Simmins, left, and singer Paul Stanley of the US band Kiss perform on stage in Berlin, Germany, Wednesday June 12, 2013. It is the only concert of the rock group in Germany during their Monster Tour 2013. (AP Photo/dpa,Britta Pedersen)

Why is it that KISS is often referred to as the physical embodiment of, “rock and roll is evil,” yet their music is some of the cheesiest rock you’ll ever hear?

I’ve never heard KISS referred to as the physical embodiment of anything other than the commodification of the music industry. As a band, they have modest chops, but it’s clear that they intended to exist as an image rather than a musical entity from day one.

I can describe them in the same way as I describe Insane Clown Posse: mediocre musicians, great performers, and brilliant businessmen.

Do Hey Jude or Yesterday have more words?

According to wordcounter.net, Hey Jude has 208 words while Yesterday has 133.

Hey Jude > Yesterday 🏆

Are there some Beatles lyrics that would be considered woke if they were written today?

None that I can think of, but there are certainly some that are decidedly unwoke:

“Well, I’d rather see you dead, little girl then to be with another man/You better keep your head, little girl or I won’t know where I am/You better run for your life if you can, little girl, hide your head in the sand, little girl, catch you with another man – that’s the end, little girl.” – Run For Your Life

“I used to be cruel to my woman I beat her and kept her apart from the things that she love/Man I was mean but I’m changing my scene and I’m doing the best that I can (fool, you fool)” – Getting Better

“Please listen to me if you wanna stay mine/I can’t help my feelings, I go outta my mind/I’m gonna let you down, and leave you flat/cause I told you before/you can’t do that.” – You Can’t Do That

Leave a comment