Have you ever lost any respect for someone instantly?

When I was 14 my mom was arrested in front of me.

I was aware of her frequent arrests for about 5 years but my parents had maintained the illusion that the police “had it out” for her and were trying to make a case against her. Why would the police have it out for her? These aren’t questions an adolescent thinks to ask – I just took their side immediately and harbored resentment toward “the government” for mistreating my mom.

This time she couldn’t hide behind her excuses anymore because I saw the evidence: fake prescriptions with my name on them. This made me an accessory to the crime and caused me to be treated with suspicion by the arresting officers at the police station. I remember them rifling through her purse and me asking why they were looking through her stuff.

“Why are you looking through my mom’s stuff”

Cop: “Because I can.”

“Says who?”

Cop: “Says me.”

Cop: “How about I just put you back there with your momma?”

The moment I lost respect was when I saw her in handcuffs.

“Justin, what do I do?”

She wasn’t a mother, she was a scared child.

I felt nothing but anger toward her from that day forward. She’s a criminal who takes advantage of every opportunity she can and always comes out as the loser but doesn’t have the brain power to recognize this. I kept a polite relationship with her until she stole my identity in 2014 and opened two credit cards under my name – I spent all of my savings keeping her out of prison (money I saved while working in the US Navy on a ship) with the agreement that she would pay me back within the year. After three years of her making excuses, I finally bargained that she didn’t have to pay me back if she ceased all contact with me – a request she has not respected as she’s in contact with my wife and is always expressing how “sorry” she is for her “mistake”. She made a choice, not a mistake.

My mom has Antisocial Personality Disorder and is a Type 2 Psychopath, also known as a Sociopath. Once a Sociopath reveals themselves, don’t give them a second chance, they don’t care about you, they don’t feel remorse, and they haven’t changed – counseling only makes them worse. The only thing you can do is get as far away from them as you can – it’s the only appropriate action that will keep you and your family safe.

What’s It Like Being Friends With A Psychopath?

A psychopath that makes it to the age of 25 without ending up in prison won’t really have any “friends” unless they’re also narcissistic and seek validation and admiration from others.

They’re usually far less interesting than the media makes them seem; more creepy and awkward than cold and calculating – living on the fringes of society. More Jeffrey Dahmer, less Ted Bundy.

A narcissistic psychopath will normally spend their time running their mouths about people and scheming, eventually burning every bridge they have once people inevitably figure them out.

Why do so many people have mental health issues?

The loss of religion and community has forced people to find internal solutions to resolve external problems – where these problems were previously “solved” for them. It’s not natural to take this existential burden onto your own shoulders; it’s not natural to be in a constant state of stress – it’s natural to hunt, gather, and then rest. Ancient man didn’t even know what their age was, what age is, or even understand what age would signify as death wasn’t truly understood – just that it occurred and was inevitable.

Also, a lot of “mental health issues” are simply natural modalities of human behavior that once served a purpose in a wider community.

Psychotic spectrum: shaman

Autism spectrum: craftsman

ADHD: hunter/explorer

In the same way that families are normally mentally ill and it’s simply the most vulnerable member that gets targeted and pathologized, it’s societies that are mentally ill – not individuals.

Leave a comment